Amanda, a member of the Robbat group, is helping develop innovative technology for characterizing health hazards... Learn More>>
Ashleigh, a member of the Sykes group, with Dr. Gerhard Ertl, the 2007 Nobel Prize Winner... Learn More>>
Eric in the Utz Group is studying the highly dynamical reactions that occur at gas-surface interfaces.... Learn More>>
Robyn in the Kritzer Group is helping identify molecules to probe human disease mechanisms... Learn More>>
Torie & Kaitlyn in the Kounaves Lab are applying innovative sensors used to analyze the soil on Mars, to in-situ analysis of deep-sea vent chemistry... Learn More>>
Shonda is part of the Walt Lab’s pioneering effort to interrogate single molecules, analyze genetic variation, and investigate single cells... Learn More>>
Tuan in the Shultz group is investigating the fundamental steps in methane clathrate formation ... Learn More>>
Taryn in the Rybak Lab is part of the effort studying the selectivity of small molecule binding and activation with transition metal complexes... Learn More>>

Dedicated to Both Teaching & Cutting Edge Research!

The Tufts University Chemistry Department provides an exciting and intellectually stimulating environment for undergraduate and graduate students to participate in cutting edge research projects that encompass the many diverse interests of the faculty and reflects the highly interdisciplinary nature of chemistry and modern scientific research. While drawing heavily on the traditional chemistry subdisciplines, and assuring a well ground expertise in the fundamentals, we also provide the opportunity to explore beyond the traditional boundaries, from nano to planetary scales and atomic to biomolecular complexity! >> Download Department Brochure

News & Events

Prof. Utz has been named a Fellow of the American Vacuum Society for pioneering work in reaction dynamics of molecules at surfaces. More>>

Tufts Chemistry Department at the forefront of undergraduate chemistry education. More>>

Prof. Walt, recipient of the Ralph N. Adams Award, was honored with a symposium at Pittcon-2016. More>>

Shultz Group researchers have discovered a way to isolate and study single-crystal ice surfaces. More>>

Profs. Kounaves & Sykes have been named Fellows of the Royal Society of Chemistry for their "contributions to the chemical sciences." More>>

Sykes & Flytzani-Stephanopoulos (CBE) Groups publish joint Nature Com paper on cost effective & efficient hydrogenation catalyst. More>>

Julia Rogers (Lin Group) and Michael Bird (Kritzer Group) receive ACS Undergrad Poster Awards. More>>